Misdemeanor Charges in Las Vegas
What Is A Misdemeanor Crime In Nevada?
Nevada defines misdemeanors as criminal offenses that carry up to six months in jail and/or up-to $1,000 in fines. Since misdemeanors are less serious than felony offenses, they typically incur lesser penalties.
However, you should not forget that the worst-case scenario with any misdemeanor charge is jail time. That means that a small mistake made in your defense effort could lead to life-altering consequences.
If you’re facing misdemeanor charges in Las Vegas, you don’t have to face the prosecution alone. Our experienced criminal defense attorneys have helped countless clients to receive decreased penalties or dismissed charges. We intend to do the same for you.
Contact The Vegas Lawyers today for your free initial consultation. Call us at (702) 707-7000.
Most Common Misdemeanor Charges In Las Vegas
Some of the most common misdemeanor charges in Las Vegas include the following:
- Certain assault charges
- Simple battery
- Petty theft
- Certain drug crimes
In many cases (but not all), misdemeanor charges lead to probation and a suspended sentence pending good behavior. However, individuals charged with gross misdemeanor charges in Las Vegas face harsher penalties.
Gross Misdemeanor Charges
Gross misdemeanor charges in Nevada carry harsher penalties than misdemeanor charges. However, they’re not as serious as a felony conviction. Penalties for a gross misdemeanor include up to 1 year in jail, and potentially $2,000 in fines.
Common examples of gross misdemeanor charges include:
- Certain firearms charges
- False imprisonment
Individuals charged with gross misdemeanor offenses are more likely to receive longer jail sentences and higher fines than misdemeanor charges. That’s especially true for people who don’t hire an experienced criminal defense lawyer in Las Vegas.
Defenses to Misdemeanor Charges in Nevada
The best criminal defense strategy for your case depends on the charge, circumstances, and what the prosecution can prove (beyond a reasonable doubt).
With that in mind, a skilled misdemeanor defense lawyer will thoroughly investigate your case, identify potential police errors, challenge the prosecution’s evidence, and work tirelessly for the best possible results.
The sooner you consult with an attorney about your case, the more time it gives them to build a solid defense strategy. Contact us today by calling (702) 707-7000.
Will A Misdemeanor Get Me Deported?
If you’ve been charged with a misdemeanor, figuring out if it’s a deportable offense can be challenging without the help of an attorney.
There’s no guarantee that a misdemeanor will get you deported. However, there’s also no guarantee that it won’t. Immigration officials at USCIS can deport non-citizen immigrants for a variety of criminal offenses, including some misdemeanors.
That’s especially true if it is a crime of moral turpitude, which are crimes that breach the trust of the people and the country.
If you’re facing misdemeanor charges and are worried about your immigration status, consulting with a very good immigration lawyer in Las Vegas that also understands criminal law is essential.
Understanding Diversion Programs Offered In Nevada
Due to the nature of most misdemeanors, many defendants are offered the opportunity to complete a qualifying “diversion” program in place of a conviction. Examples of diversion program conditions include:
- Educational courses or support groups
- Restitution payments to victims
- Mandatory therapy
- Community service
- Adherence to no-contact orders
- Drug or alcohol rehabilitation program completion (Drug Court)
It’s important to note that diversion programs are not offered to all defendants. For instance, if you’ve been charged with a violent crime in Nevada, you are not eligible to exchange diversion program completion for dismissed charges.
Furthermore, individuals who have previously completed a Nevada diversion program or have a criminal record cannot participate in diversion programs. Those who are eligible must complete the program. If they neglect to do so, they face the original charges and penalties again.
Can I Get Misdemeanors Sealed In Nevada?
Yes. Misdemeanor charges are eligible for a record seal in Nevada. However, the length of time you’re required to wait before you’re eligible for a record seal depends on the charge. For most misdemeanors, individuals must wait at least one year after their case closes.
However, for certain misdemeanors like DUIs and battery domestic violence, individuals must wait at least seven years after the case closes to be eligible for a record seal.
If you were charged with a misdemeanor, but the charges were later dismissed, you are immediately eligible for a record seal in Nevada. Contact us today to learn how.
Need A Las Vegas Lawyer For Misdemeanor Charges? Contact Us Today
Are you facing misdemeanor charges? The Vegas Lawyers can help. A criminal conviction on your record, no matter how minor, can have a significant impact on your life. Let us help relieve your stress by allowing us to represent you.