Las Vegas DUI School
Do I Have To Go To DUI School?
If you’ve recently been charged with your first DUI in Nevada, you’re required to attend DUI school if convicted. It’s an eight-hour class designed to provide DUI offenders with provoking drug and alcohol education.
DUI School can be completed in-person or online, depending on your needs. Some DUI defendants are also ordered to enroll in the Coroner’s DUI program, where they experience stories and images of deceased DUI victims to hopefully dissuade future instances of driving under the influence.
If you’ve recently been charged with a DUI offense in Las Vegas, Henderson, Summerlin, Green Valley, North Las Vegas, Boulder City, Laughlin, Mesquite, Goodsprings, Searchlight or Pahrump, there may be defenses available to you that could lead to decreased charges, dismissal, or reduced penalties.
Contact The Vegas Lawyers or give us a call at (702) 707-7000 to discuss your case.
The Purpose Of DUI School In Nevada
Judges typically require all first-time DUI offenders to attend an eight-hour Nevada DUI school. It’s a well-designed program that gives DUI offenders insight into traffic safety laws and the hazards of driving while under the influence.
In most circumstances, defendants have 3 – 6 months to complete the course (as well as other court-ordered conditions).
You can take the course online or in person. If you’ve been charged with more than one DUI in the last seven years, the court will typically order a more intensive rehabilitation and educational alcohol and substance abuse program.
Also, if you’ve been clinically diagnosed with a substance-abuse disorder by a court-approved mental health practitioner, you may also be eligible for Misdemeanor or Felony DUI Court.
What Is The Coroner’s DUI School?
Defendants proven to have a BAC of .018 or higher are usually required to attend the Coroner’s DUI Program in addition to DUI School. Generally, the program is completed in person unless circumstances don’t allow for it.
During the Coroner’s DUI program, enrollees must observe images of corpses of victims of collisions caused by intoxicated driving. Its purpose is to potentially deter defendants from getting behind the wheel after drinking.
What Can I Expect In Nevada DUI School?
Many DUI school attendees enroll in online classes. It’s usually more convenient and allows you to complete the course at your own pace. Most online Nevada DUI Schools provide a series of modules.
Review quizzes follow each module. Once you’ve completed all of the lessons, you must take and pass a final exam. If you opt for in-person or correspondence classes, you can expect lectures, discussions, presentations, exercises, and a final exam. In-person courses are typically held on Saturdays.
Regardless of how you complete your Nevada DUI class, you will receive a certificate of completion that you can submit to the courts.
How Long Does It Take To Complete DUI School?
Typically, judges order defendants to enroll in an 8-hour course. However, in cases where the defendant has a BAC over .18 percent or other circumstances, a judge may order longer courses.
The good news is you typically have 3 – 6 months to complete the class. So, it can fit into just about any schedule. Online DUI courses in Nevada allow for more flexibility.
What Happens If You Get Kicked Out Of DUI Classes?
Court-ordered DUI classes require mandatory attendance and completion. If you do not, you run the risk of substantial penalties. Potential consequences for being kicked out of a DUI class or not attending include:
- Suspension or revocation of your temporary license
- Denial of license reinstatement
- Probation violation
- Jail time
If you have been charged with a first DUI or convicted and ordered to serve jail time, but you have questions about what to expect. It can be helpful to consult with your Las Vegas DUI lawyer to better understand the requirements and consequences of failing to complete the course.
Will I Go To Jail If I Stop Going to Class?
Potentially, yes. As mentioned above, not completing court-ordered DUI school can have a devastating effect on your overall DUI case. This is especially true if a judge suspended your jail sentence so long as you complete all other requirements (including DUI School).
In certain circumstances, the courts will offer leniency and give defendants more time to complete the course. Judges are more likely to provide an extension if defendants are too sick to attend classes, are caretakers, or legitimately can’t afford to take the class.
An experienced Nevada DUI lawyer will usually inform a judge of their client’s inability to complete the course before the deadline. Otherwise, the courts may not allow an extension and impose penalties for failure to follow all court orders.
How Much Does DUI School Cost?
Exact costs vary depending on the company, length of course, and how it’s taken (i.e., online or in-person). You can generally expect to pay $89 – $185 for an 8-hour course, $275 for a 16-hour DUI School course, and more than $300 for a 24-hour class. Also, the Clark County Coroner’s Office Program costs about $150. These prices are subject to change and can vary.
Where to Find DUI Schools in Las Vegas
A quick search for something similar to “where to find a DUI school in Las Vegas” is normally the first place people begin their search. However, the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles also offers a comprehensive list. Here at The Vegas Lawyers, we help our clients find the best and most cost-efficient programs.
Before you enroll in a course, be sure to check for online reviews to learn about past students’ experiences. It can be challenging to complete this requirement with a teacher or school that doesn’t fit your learning style.
If you’ve recently enrolled in a Nevada DUI School but are unsatisfied, you can reach out to the DMV Compliance Enforcement Division to make an official complaint.
Recently Arrested For DUI? Contact Us – We Can Help
DUI School is just one of the court-ordered requirements if you’re convicted of DUI. If you’ve been arrested for DUI, you also face potential jail time, hefty fines, a criminal record, and more.
At The Vegas Lawyers, our team of skilled DUI lawyers and paralegals understand the difficulties a DUI conviction can present.
We care about you and the outcome of your case. We are determined to use our experience and knowledge to help you receive the least amount of penalties possible under the circumstances.
Don’t gamble with your future. We’re here to help. Contact The Vegas Lawyers through this website or give us a call at (702) 707-7000 to schedule your free initial consultation today.