Can You Drive With an Expired License? Know Nevada’s Laws

Many wonder if you can drive with an expired license. Like most states, the State of Nevada requires residents to renew a driver’s license before the expiration date of the license. While making a trip to the Department of Motor Vehicles is probably not something you look forward to, operating a motor vehicle with an expired license is a violation of Nevada law. To ensure that you know your rights, the Vegas Lawyers explain the legal implications of driving with an expired license in Nevada.

Can you drive with an expired license in Las Vegas, Nevada

When Does My Driver’s License Expire in Nevada?

When you receive your Nevada driver’s license, the Department of Motor Vehicles automatically sets an expiration date for your license. Typically, a Nevada driver’s license is valid for eight years from the date the license was issued. Exceptions to this rule apply to a learner’s permit which expires after one year and to drivers who are 65 years of age and older who must renew their driver’s license every four years.

What Are the Potential Penalties for Driving with an Expired License in Nevada?

Driving with an expired license is the same as driving without a license given that an expired license is not a valid license. NRS § 483.230 makes it a criminal offense to operate a motor vehicle on a public roadway without a valid driver’s license. Driving without a valid license is a misdemeanor offense in Nevada, punishable by up to six months in jail and/or a fine of up to $1,000. In addition, the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles operates on a point system, assigning points to your driver’s license if you are convicted of a traffic offense, including driving without a valid license. If you accrue 12 or more points within a 12-month period, your driving privileges will automatically be suspended. Finally, you could face increased insurance premiums for several years after being convicted of driving without a license.

Can I Avoid a Conviction If I Forgot to Renew My Driver’s License?

If you forgot to renew your driver’s license, you are hardly alone. Getting pulled over and charged with driving without a valid license was likely just bad luck; however, you undoubtedly want to avoid having a conviction on your driver and criminal history. The good news is that it may be possible to avoid a conviction altogether or to get the charges reduced to a civil infraction if you get your license renewed, and you do not have a problematic driving history.

How Can I Renew My Nevada Driver’s License?

You can renew your license at a Nevada DMV office or you may be eligible to renew online if you are between the ages of 16 and 70, your license expires within the next 60 days or expired within the preceding 364 days, you have a non-commercial license, and you have not had three or more moving violations in the past four years.

What Should I Do If I Have Been Charged with Driving with an Expired License in Nevada?

If you were charged with driving with an expired license in Nevada, consult with an experienced criminal defense attorney at The Vegas Lawyers as soon as possible to discuss your legal options and defenses. Call us at 702-707-7000 or contact us online.