Speed Ticket Lawyers: How to Handle Speeding Tickets in NV

Some drivers intentionally drive over the speed limit while others unintentionally let the needle pass the speed limit while their mind wanders. For a law enforcement officer, all that is needed to write you a ticket is the suspicion that you were driving over the posted speed limit. Because a speeding ticket can be costly in more ways than one, the Vegas Lawyers want you to know five things about handling speeding tickets in Nevada.

Speed ticket lawyers in Las Vegas, NV

1. Speeding Can Be a Crime in Nevada

If you are someone who tends to have a “lead” foot, you should know that speeding can be a criminal offense in Nevada. Speeding starts as a civil infraction, meaning you cannot be imprisoned if convicted. Civil infractions are only punishable by fines and points against your license. If you are convicted of speeding 30 miles per hour or more above the posted speed limit, however, speeding can be charged as a criminal misdemeanor.

2. You Can Be Charged with Speeding Even If You Are Not Going Over the Posted Limit

Like most people, you likely assume that a speeding ticket must be based on the allegation that you were traveling at a rate of speed that exceeded the posted speed limit. The law, however, says that a motorist is also prohibited from traveling “At a rate of speed greater than is reasonable or proper, having due regard for the traffic, surface, and width of the highway, the weather, and other highway conditions” or at “Such a rate of speed as to endanger the life, limb or property of any person.” In other words, you can be issued a speeding ticket if you are traveling at 60 miles per hour and the posted speed limit is 60 miles per hour.

3. You Face Higher Penalties If You Are Speeding in Certain Locations

When speeding is charged as a civil infraction, you face a fine or monetary penalty only for a conviction. The fine or civil penalty, however, can be doubled if the incident occurred in a work zone, school zone, or pedestrian safety zone (pedestrian crosswalks). All three special areas should be well-marked as such, so be sure to slow down when you enter one of these zones.

4. Your Driving Privileges Could Be Suspended for Speeding

When the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) receives notification that you have chosen not to challenge a speeding ticket, or you unsuccessfully challenged a speeding ticket, points will be levied against your driving record. Nevada operates on a point demerit system, assigning points when you are convicted of a traffic offense. For speeding, you will receive 1 point if you were traveling 1 to 10 mph over the posted speed limit; 2 points for going 11-20 mph over the posted speed limit; and 3 points for traveling 21-30 mph over the posted speed limit. If you rack up 12 or more points within a 12-month time frame, your license will automatically be suspended for six months.

5. You Can Challenge a Speeding Ticket in Nevada

When you are issued a speeding ticket as a civil infraction, you can simply pay the fine if you do not wish to challenge the ticket, or you can request a hearing within 90 calendar days from the date the ticket was issued if you want to challenge the ticket. If you are charged with a misdemeanor for speeding, you will be required to appear in court, at which time you can plead not guilty if you want to challenge the ticket.

What Should I Do If I Was Issued a Speeding Ticket in Las Vegas?

If you were issued a speeding ticket in Las Vegas and you wish to challenge the ticket, consult with the experienced speed ticket lawyers at The Vegas Lawyers as soon as possible to discuss your legal options and defenses. Call us at 702-707-7000 or contact us online.