Las Vegas DUI School
Individuals convicted of a first-time DUI in Nevada must complete an Alcohol and Controlled Substance Awareness Course, otherwise known as “DUI school.” Before you begin searching for a “DUI school near me” or “DUI classes near me,” it’s in your best interest to gather as much information as you can before enrolling.
On this website page, we discuss expectations while attending mandatory DUI school, including the following:
- How Las Vegas DUI school works
- The coroner’s DUI program
- DUI cases that get reduced to reckless driving
- Online DUI school in Nevada
- Out-of-State DUI School
- The cost of DUI school in Nevada
- And much more
If you’re facing DUI charges in Nevada, we can help. Contact The Vegas Lawyers (TVL) today at (702) 707-7000 for your free initial consultation. At TVL we guide our clients to the right result and provide as much information along the way to help them make the right decisions. Don’t gamble with your future.
DUI school in Nevada is an 8-to-24-hour drug and alcohol program focused on educating individuals convicted of a DUI about the hazards of operating a vehicle while under the influence. Generally, DUI offenders must complete the program within 3-to-6-months.
Both in-person and online DUI courses typically offer PowerPoint presentations, videos, pictures, information about drunk driving, and powerful stories reflecting the dangers of driving under the influence. Lately, there have been many instances in the news featuring prominent cases of DUIs leading to very tragic and sad situations.
In most cases, the length of your DUI course corresponds with your charge. For example, most first-time offenders can expect an 8-hour course, while second-time DUI offenders are usually required to spend more time in class.
Searching for terms like “DUI school Las Vegas” will undoubtedly yield hundreds of results. However, you should ensure that your selected DUI school is court-approved and DMV licensed before you enroll. Further, you should conduct thorough background research on your program to ensure it is the best fit for you. That includes cost, location, online options, reviews, etc.
Generally, here’s how the Las Vegas DUI school program works:
- The defendant is convicted of DUI in Nevada – typically a guilty plea
- A judge sentences the defendant to DUI school, in addition to other DUI penalties
- The defendant has 3 to 6 months to complete the program
- The defendant chooses an in-person, online, or hybrid DUI school in Las Vegas
- Upon completion, the DUI school provides a certificate of completion
- The defendant or DUI school delivers the certificate of completion to the court via mail or fax
The good news about most DUI schools in Las Vegas is that you can complete them at your own pace (within the required time). Further, most DUI schools offer online and in-person classes to fit your lifestyle. During the course, you can expect to learn more about DUI laws, the dangers of driving while under the influence, strategies to prevent drunk driving, and more. At TVL, we help guide our clients to the right program. Programs recognized by the Court and for which clients receive full credit.
According to Clark County’s website, the Coroner’s DUI Program is designed to help DUI offenders “understand their choices and actions affect not only themselves but also their family, friends, and others in the community.”
In some cases, a judge may order DUI defendants in Las Vegas to complete the Coroner’s DUI program in addition to a traditional Nevada DUI course. Enrollment in the Coroner’s DUI program is usually reserved for DUI defendants who operate a vehicle with a 0.18 BAC or higher. That’s because BAC levels that high are much more likely to lead to a fatal car accident.
Unlike DUI school, defendants must complete the Coroner’s DUI program in person, and there are no opportunities for online participation. While enrolled in the Coroner’s program, enrollees can expect to see pictures and videos of deceased victims of fatal drunk/drugged driving accidents.
However, students are not required to view actual dead bodies or autopsies. It’s important to note that exigent circumstances (i.e., COVID-19 or other serious illness) can sometimes lead a judge to suspend or delay attendance in the Coroner’s DUI program.
Suppose your DUI charges are reduced to reckless driving. In that case, a judge is still likely to impose many of the standard penalties as a 1st-time DUI conviction, including:
- Mandatory jail time or community service. Judges typically suspend jail sentences for 6-months pending good behavior
- Mandatory completion of DUI school in Nevada
- Fines and court costs
- Attendance at a Victim Impact Panel
- Ignition interlock device installation
- Possible enrollment in a drug abuse treatment program
If your charges are reduced, it’s not as likely that you will receive a license suspension. However, that’s not always a guarantee. Additional benefits of getting your DUI charge reduced to reckless driving include the following:
- Less damaging criminal record
- Decreased penalties for subsequent DUI charges
- Easier and earlier criminal record seal
It’s important to note that felony DUI charges can be reduced to felony reckless driving in rare cases. However, defendants found guilty of felony reckless driving are usually sentenced to prison time (albeit less than a felony DUI conviction).
Working with an experienced Las Vegas DUI attorney can greatly increase your chances of reduced or dismissed DUI charges in Nevada. A good attorney can potentially uncover weaknesses in the prosecutor’s case, mount a sold DUI defense on your behalf, and negotiate a favorable outcome.
Yes. Most DUI schools in Nevada offer online classes as an option to every student. The benefit of completing online DUI school is that you can do so on your own time and from the comfort of your home. The majority of online DUI schools allow students to participate via mobile device, computer, or tablet 24/7. Individuals who are unable to complete the course online can also enroll in an in-person DUI program. However, many DUI schools have gone completely online as a result of COVID-19.
If you’ve been charged with a DUI in Nevada but reside in another state, you can still complete online DUI school. Individuals convicted of an out of state DUI can enroll and participate in online DUI classes from anywhere (so long as they have internet access).
Out of state DUI defendants who cannot access the internet can potentially enroll in a DUI course in their home state. However, they must receive permission from the courts before beginning the in-person out of state DUI course.
Since many defendants convicted of driving under the influence in Nevada are from another state, most judges try their best to provide reasonable accommodations. It’s important to note that individuals ordered to attend the Coroner’s Program are usually required to return to Las Vegas to complete the course in person. However, a judge may allow a defendant to complete a comparable course in their home state in some cases.
The length of time a DUI defendant must spend in compulsory DUI school depends on the charge. Generally, first-time misdemeanor DUI defendants must complete an eight-hour DUI program. However, a judge is more likely to impose a lengthier course (i.e., 16 – 24 hours) in cases where an individual’s blood alcohol concentration is very high. Learn more below.
- In-Person Compulsory DUI School – Classroom DUI courses are typically offered on weekend mornings. They can be completed in one day from 8 in the morning to 4:30 in the afternoon.
- Online DUI School – Similar to in-person DUI school, online compulsory DUI school spans eight hours. However, the benefit of completing an online course is you can complete it at your leisure 24/7.
It’s essential to remember that you can complete online DUI school at your own pace. However, it must still be completed before the deadline set by the judge. Otherwise, you could face additional penalties.
There are countless DUI schools in Nevada. However, the DUI school cost can vary depending on the company you choose to work with and the type of course you’ve been ordered to take. While DUI school cost is an important factor to consider, you should also be aware of the school’s reputation, certifications, and reviews.
Take a look at the approximate DUI school cost in Nevada in the table below.
|Online DUI Courses||Approximate DUI School Cost|
|Eight hour DUI course||$90 – $200|
|Sixteen hour DUI course||$275 – $300|
|Twenty-four-hour DUI course||$325 – $350|
|The Coroner’s Program in Las Vegas||$150|
Not having enough money is not a good reason to skip DUI class. Since Las Vegas DUI schools are owned and operated by independent business owners, there are no fee waivers available to defendants. That means that the defendant must cover all out-of-pocket costs associated with attending DUI school.
DUI offenses in Nevada are taken seriously by the prosecution, law enforcement, and the courts. With that in mind, unfulfilled legal obligations like not completing DUI school can sometimes lead to serious consequences. However, in many cases, judges are willing to give defendants an extension to complete the course. Judges are more likely to offer leniency and more time under the following conditions:
- You were unable to complete the course due to illness
- You were taking care of family, work, or otherwise important duties and unable to complete the course
- You did not have the money to pay for the DUI school near me
Suppose you’re unable to complete DUI school on time. In that case, judges tend to offer more compassion to defendants who responsibly inform the court of their inability to complete DUI school ahead of time. Otherwise, judges are not as likely to offer an extension.
What Happens If You Get Kicked Out Of DUI Classes?
Court-ordered DUI classes require mandatory attendance and completion. If you don’t complete your court ordered obligations, you run the risk of substantial penalties. Potential consequences for being kicked out of a DUI class or not attending include:
- Suspension or revocation of your temporary license
- Denial of license reinstatement
- Probation violation
- Jail time
Attending DUI classes is an opportunity to put the terrible experience of a DUI behind you. Failing to finish or complete classes without a valid excuse can lead to bad outcomes. At TVL we help guide our clients to the right programs.
Absolutely. When you plead guilty to a first-time DUI offense, the court typically offers a 6-month suspended jail sentence. With a suspended sentence, defendants can avoid going to jail so long as they adhere to all other imposed penalties (including attending DUI school).
However, if you neglect to complete DUI school, the courts may lift the suspension and require you to go to jail. For that reason, it’s in your best interest to inform the court of your inability to complete DUI school in a timely manner.
Most judges are compassionate towards defendants who offer a good reason for not finishing DUI school and offer extended time. However, that kindness should not be taken as weakness. Failure to complete DUI school twice is much harder to explain to a judge and is likely to lead to penalties.
By getting on Google and searching terms like “DUI school Las Vegas” is a great place to search for DUI education classes. However, you can save yourself a lot of time and worry by using the DUI school Nevada list offered by the Nevada DMV. The DUI education classes on the Department of Motor Vehicles list are certified and recognized by Nevada.
However, you should not stop your search there. Be sure to check reviews, read testimonials, and give the school a call to learn first-hand information about what you can expect before enrolling. DUI school in Nevada can be challenging to complete with an incompatible instructor or DUI school.
Another good place to find a list of DUI schools is the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles website which offers a comprehensive list. Before you enroll in a course, be sure to check for online reviews to learn about past students’ experiences. It can be challenging to complete this requirement with a teacher or school that doesn’t fit your learning style.
If you’ve recently enrolled in a Nevada DUI School but are unsatisfied, you can reach out to the DMV Compliance Enforcement Division to make an official complaint. However, dissatisfaction with your DUI education classes is not an excuse to skip class. Doing so could lead to devastating consequences.
Contact The Vegas Lawyers If You’re Facing DUI Charges
If you’re facing DUI charges in Nevada, you deserve the best Las Vegas DUI defense lawyers on your side. The consequences of a DUI conviction can be devastating for your personal, professional, and family life. At TVL, we have the skill, experience, and determination to help you get the least amount of penalties possible under the circumstances.
We aren’t the cheapest DUI attorneys in Las Vegas, but if you asked our clients, they’d tell you we’re the best. Why? Because we get results and we treat our clients with respect and compassion. We also offer affordable payment plans to help you get the best legal representation you deserve.
Don’t gamble with your freedom or future when you don’t have to. Contact The Vegas Lawyers today at (702) 707-7000 to schedule your free and confidential consultation.